Chance meeting at Wendys:)

Today I chance you ran into an aol veteran of 13 yrs. We were standing in line at the Wendys in Tysons Corner. He had just recently left AOL. He stressed the importance of doing more then simply being a good developer, you’ve got to look at things that are important to those above you and work on them, like developing projects and thinking about things like market penetration, revenue, growth, etc. be an entrepreneur (think business not just tech). also work on connections and look out for yourself, put yourself in positions to move, rather then just be conformable.

Advertisements

Psyc assignment, describe your perfect job:

To describe my perfect job I’d like to explain it by focusing on separate areas.

Location: Having experience with a job that had 90% travel and my current one with is maybe 5% travel, I’d prefer a mix. Something like 70% local, 30% travel. I say this because when you are traveling almost all of the year, you don’t do other things like buy a house, take a class and maybe finish another degree, get married, etc. On the other hand, you are experiencing different cultures, companies, lifestyles, etc. By only traveling a certainly part of the year, you can make plans for the rest of the year and yet have a welcome break away from your possibly mundane local work. Continue reading “Psyc assignment, describe your perfect job:”

Psyc HW: Self-Assessment

Occupation & School

I’ve excelled in quantity over quality in both of these areas.
For example, I’ve been comfortable switching jobs (so I’ve had man) also with negotiating lots.  Therefore, although my skill set is good, it’s probably not inline with my high compensation at work.
In college I rarely did stellar in any classes or semesters.  I averaged a pretty consistent 3.0.  Over my 9 semesters/172 credits my GPA was in a fairly tight range of 2.7 to 3.2.  Rather then mastery of any one class, I instead took many classes.
In summary I could have focused and applied myself to a smaller number of courses and done very well in each of those rather then spreading efforts over a diverse course load; or stuck with fewer jobs and worked hard to become an expert in my respective field.

Social & Interpersonal

Socially I… am friendly with others.  Among those I’m more familiar with I can be very opinionated.  I’m also very comfortable with being different or independent/alone.

Beliefs, Values & Attitudes

Religion doesn’t play a very string role in my life.  My sense of right and wrong are loosely based on my catholic upbringings, however they are more influenced on my own logical concepts, largely derived from common sense thinking.  I value fairly typical ideals/beliefs in my society including, freedom of expression/choice, social/environmental responsibility, open communication, socialist tendencies, success, perseverance, and discipline.

Physical Description

My father is Chinese/Thai and my mother is English/German.  I stand 5’7” and weigh around 160lbs.  I have dark hair and eyes.  My attire varies from business casual to casual.  My build might be considered athletic and I have a fairly clean/neat appearance.